Richard Lopez
Pete Mills
Chris Howes
Bop Du Fway
Other Artists
Ordering Info

Pete Mills, Saxophone  



Momentum is the critically acclaimed solo debut from tenor saxophonist Pete Mills.  Mills, a recipient of numerous awards including the 1997 North Carolina Jazz Composer’s Award, showcases both his performing and writing skills on this compact disc, having written six of the nine compositions. 

The Columbus Dispatch writes of Mills’ compositions as being “impressive” with solos that are “ear opening…with a tone that is big and rich…[Momentum] recalls the post-bop of mid-1960s Blue Note records.  But it also echoes other decades and other labels.  It is remarkable first and foremost though, in its pursuit of pure jazz.”

The compact disc also features pianist Mark Flugge, who contributes two compositions to the project, bassist Douglas Richeson and Aaron Scott on drums.  Fluglehornist Jim Powell can be heard on two tracks as well as North Carolinans Paul Tardif on piano and Ray Codrington on trumpet.

Mills is also featured on Cojazz releases from Madrugada, Stan Smith’s Pathways and Don Hales’ A Touch of the Culture.

Pete also has two wonderful released from Summit Records - check out his site at www.petemills.com